Recycling Isobutane Fuel Canisters

April 2, 2010 at 3:25 pm 1 comment


I’ve been using a Primus camp stove that uses isobutane fuel canisters It’s been simple to use.  But forgive me for I have committed an eco-sin since these canisters are not refillable.  To atone, I figured I’d bring the empties back to the REI store in San Francisco where I purchased them and surely they’d take them back for recycling, right?  Right???

Well, as it turns out, I was only partially correct.  They did take them back for recycling but were charging $1.50 per canister.  Now, I’m a recycling fanatic, but even I draw the line at paying to recycle.  So, I walked out of the store with my empty canisters in search of a more cost-effective solution.  In comes Sports Basement once again to the rescue.  See previous post on crutch recycling.   Not only do they take the isobutane canisters, but propane ones as well.  And, free of charge!  Thanks again, SB.  You are recycling champs!

Entry filed under: Metals, Recycling. Tags: , , , .

recycling CFLs and flourescents World Party- the World’s First Eco Rock Band?

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other subscribers

Archives

Feeds