World Party- the World’s First Eco Rock Band?

April 4, 2010 at 6:29 pm 2 comments


World Party is the brainchild of Karl Wallinger.  He’s a one-man-band of sorts, but a very talented one-man-band with a vision.

“Private Revolution” was this band’s first record, released in 1986.  Aside from being some great music, it spawned a radio hit (Ship of Fools) and was notable for its passionate stance on conservation and respecting the environment.   Though music on conservation and the environment had been done before (See the Schoolhouse Rock episode on “Energy Blues“), I can’t recall the last time a serious rock music artist dedicated an entire successful rock album on the topic of the environment.  Here are some examples from the lyrics.

Making Love to the World: … “I was swimming in the river; Now I’m drowning in the sea; I mistreated the world; Now she’s coming back for me… When will we learn to make love to the world?”

The Ballad of the Little Man: …”He tears up all the countryside; Stops when he should begin; Drowns when he tries to walk on water; But he never learns to swim; He’s an animal but he thinks he’s God;  gets him mixed up with Him; And we’re all at the mercy of this little man within… Now he’s sitting in the garden as the acid rain comes in; He’s got a cupboard full of rhino heads; and boots of leopard’s skin; He’s got the means to make the harvest high; but you can count those hungry people die; We’re all at the mercy of the greedy man within”

World Party: …” I hear there’s going to be a harvest; and every creature gets a share; of life and food and light… … Unless we learn we’re the dumbest creatures; That ever walked the world”

It’s All Mine: … “Shoes out of leather; tongue dried out; Food all gone; engine stopped… there’s a hole in the dam; where the power used to be; there’s a crack in my cup; And I’m adrift of the sea… It’s all mine, it’s all mine, it’s all mine, it’s all my own fault… there’s my river of mud; there’s my sky of lead; I’ve got a headful of dynamite; And I’ve got nails in my bed… It’s all mine, it’s all mine, it’s all my own fault…”

– GP Dave

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , , , .

Recycling Isobutane Fuel Canisters Dasani Water PlantBottle: Green or Greenwash?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Guinea Pig-Norm  |  April 4, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Good find, GP Dave. How did you come across his music?

    -GP Norm

    Reply
    • 2. Guinea Pig-Dave  |  April 4, 2010 at 7:28 pm

      First heard it in college (Berkeley, go figure). But we didn’t listen to it for its message, though the point was well taken. I listened to it because it was good music.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other subscribers

Archives

Feeds